Friday Flashback:  Georgia Force

Arena football is still around although they are down to eight teams but the league was booming in 2002-2012.  During those years, the Georgia Force played in the league.  They made the playoffs in seven of the nine years they played and lost ArenaBowl XIX in 2005 to Colorado.

The first version of the Force originated as the Nashville Kats when the team moved from Nashville to Atlanta in 2002.  They originally played in Philips Arena but moved to Gwinnett Arena in 2003.   Atlanta Falcons owner Arthur Blank bought the team in 2004.

In 2007, the Force had their best record at 14-2 and were the #2 seed in the AFL playoffs but was upset in the conference championship game by the Columbus Destroyers 66-56.

The league suspended operations in 2009 due to financial and labor issues but resurrected in 2011.  The Force returned when Alabama Vipers relocated their franchise to Atlanta.   The Force played two more seasons but eventually folded after the 2012 season.  Low attendance plagued the Force as they averaged on 4,242 in their final season.

Some of the most notable players for the Force were:  Chris Greisen (QB), Jermaine Smith (OL/DL) and Troy Bergeron (Offensive Specialist).

Georgia Force seasons:

  • 2002  (6-8) 
  • 2003 (8-8) – Lost in Quarterfinals to San Jose
  • 2004 (7-9)
  • 2005 (11-5) – Lost ArenaBowl XIX to Colorado
  • 2006 (8-8) – Lost in Divisional Round to Dallas
  • 2007 (14-2) – Lost in Conference Championship to Columbus
  • 2008 (10-6) – Lost in Division Round to Cleveland
  • 2009 – League did not play
  • 2010 – Force did not play
  • 2011 – (11-7) – Lost in Conference Championship to Jacksonville
  • 2012 – (9-9) – Lost in Semifinals to Jacksonville

The AFL has recently awarded an expansion team to Washington, DC for next season but there are no indications that Atlanta will have another chance for Arena Footbll.


Leave a Reply