2016 Minor League Baseball Champions

As we approach October, most of the minor/independent leagues have crowned their champions.  The independent Atlantic League is still in postseason play.  There were five teams winning their first title (El Paso, Bradenton, Great Lakes, Ottawa and Tucson) and two repeat champions (Midland and Myrtle Beach).  

The Scranton-Wilkes Barre RailRiders were crowned AAA champions.  

Minor League Champions

  • International League: Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders
  • Pacific Coast League: El Paso Chihuahuas (first title)
  • AAA National Championship: Scranton-WB RailRiders 3, El Paso Chihuahuas 1
  • Eastern League: Akron RubberDucks (first title since 2012)
  • Southern League:  Jackson (MS) Generals
  • Texas League: Midland Rockhounds (third straight title)
  • California League: High Desert Mavericks (final game in the California League)
  • Carolina League:  Myrtle Beach Pelicans (second straight title)
  • Florida State League:  Bradenton Marauders (first title)
  • Midwest League: Great Lakes Loons (first title)
  • South Atlantic League: Rome Braves 
  • New York-Penn League:  State College (PA) Spikes
  • Northwest League:  Eugene Emeralds (first title since 1975)
  • Appalachain League:  Johnson City (TN) Cardinals (fourth title in seven years)
  • Pioneer League: Orem Owlz (first title since 2009)
  • Arizona League:  Mariners 
  • Gulf Coast League:  Cardinals
  • Mexican League:  Pericos de Puebla

Independent Leagues

  • American Association: Winnipeg Goldeyes 
  • Atlantic League:  Long Island Ducks vs. Sugar Land Skeeters
  • Canadian-American League: Ottawa Champions (first title)
  • Frontier League: Evansville Otters (second title)
  • Pecos League: Tucson Saguaros (first title)

College Leagues

  • Alaska League: Mat-Su Miners
  • Cape Cod League: Yarmouth-Dennis Red Sox
  • Coastal Plain League:  Savannah (GA) Bananas
  • Futures Collegiate Baseball League: Nashua (NH) Silver Knights
  • Great Lakes Summer Collegiate League: Hamilton (OH) Joes
  • New England Collegiate Baseball League: Mystic (CT) Schooners
  • Northwoods League: Wisconsin Rapids (WI) Rafters
  • Perfect Game Collegiate Baseball League: Amsterdam (NY) Mohawks
  • Prospect League: West Virginia Miners
  • Texas Collegiate League: Brazos Valley (TX) Bombers
  • West Coast League: Corvallis (OR) Knights
  • Western Major Baseball League: Swift Current Indians

Leave a Reply