Team of the Week: Los Angeles Sparks


The Los Angeles Sparks won their first Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA) title since 2002 when Nneka Ogwumike’s connected on a short jump shot with 3.1 seconds left to give the Sparks at 77-76 win over the Minnesota Lynx in Game 5 of the series.

The Lynx were playing in their fifth title series in the last six years.

There was some controversy in the game as Renee Brown,  WNBA chief of basketball operations and players relations, released a statement that in reviewing the postgame video, Ogwumike’s shot with 1:14 remaining should not have counted due to a shot-clock violation.  Earlier in the series, the officials missed an 8-second backcourt violation that benefitted Minnesota in Game 4.  The Lynx won the game 85-79 to force the deciding game.

Candace Parker and Kristi Toliver joined Qgwumike as the team’s leading players in 2016.  The Sparks defeated the Chicago Sky in the semifinals, 3 games to 1.

In the finals:

  • Game 1:  Los Angeles 78, Minnesota 76
  • Game 2:  Minnesota 79, Los Angeles 60
  • Game 3:  Los Angeles 92, Minnesota 75
  • Game 4:  Minnesota 85, Los Angeles 79
  • Game 5:  Los Angeles 77, Minnesota 76

This was the Sparks’ third WNBA title having won the title in 2001 and 2002.




Leave a Reply