Friday Flashback: 1947 Chicago Cardinals


When the Chicago Cubs finally ended their 108 year championship drought, that left the National Football League’s Arizona Cardinals as the major sports franchise that has gone the longest time between championships.  The Cardinals are now at the top of this dubious list with 69 seasons since their last title.  They were also once a team in Chicago when they originated as the Cardinals.  In 1947 they defeated the Philadelphia Eagles 28-21.

The game was played on December 28 at Comiskey Park in Chicago.  This was the second NFL title game played after Christmas Day.  The temperature at kickoff was 29 degrees.

In the game, the Cardinals jumped out to a 14-0 lead with a 44-yard run by Charley Trippi and a 70-yard run by Elmer Angsman.  Trippi also had a 75-yard punt return for a touchdown in the third quarter and Angsman had another 70-yard run for a score in the fourth.   Eagles later got within 28-21 with five minutes to go in the game.  The Cardinals controlled the ball the rest of the game on a long drive to hold on for the win.

Each player on the winning team received $1,132 while the losing team players got a check for $754 each.

The Cardinals have only appeared in two title games since 1947.  The lost to the Eagles in the 1948 NFL Championship and to the Pittsburgh Steelers in Super Bowl XLIII in 2008.





Leave a Reply