PRO Chess League Season Checkmates Today


Are you ready for some….chess?

I know.  I can’t contain my excitement either.  Although there won’t be crazed fans packing sports arenas for this league, this is a serious sport as the PRO Chess League begins their matches today for the start of the 2017 season.

The Professional Rapid Online Chess League evolved from what was the United States Chess League (USCL) which was an online chess league for the past 10 years.  PRO Chess will have faster time controls, provide more flexibility in forming and managing teams and allow “free agent” acquisitions from all over the world.

The league features 48 teams from five continents and top players such as Magnus Carlsen, Fabiano Caruana, Wesley So, Hikaru Nakamura and Maxime Vachier-Lagrave.  Names that will make you forget Tom Brady and Ezekiel Elliott.

Okay, maybe not but these are some big names in this league.   The league is aligned into Blue, Red, Green and Orange Divisions:






Blue Division (Eastern North America and South America)

  • Atlanta Kings
  • Buenos Aires Krakens
  • Carolina Cobras
  • Columbus Cardinals
  • Miami Champions
  • Montreal ChessBrahs
  • New Jersey Knockouts
  • New York Knights
  • Patagonia Penguins
  • Philadelphia Inventors
  • Toronto Dragons
  • Montclair Sopranos

Red Division (Western North America)

  • Dallas Destiny
  • Minnesota Blizzard
  • Portland Rain
  • Rio Grande Ospreys
  • San Diego Surfers
  • San Francisco Mechanics
  • San Jose Hackers
  • Seattle Sluggers
  • St. Louis Arch Bishops
  • Webster Windmills
  • Las Vegas Desert Rats
  • Pittsburgh Pawngrabbers

Green Division (Western Europe and Africa)

  • Abuja Rockstars
  • Amsterdam Mosquitoes
  • Apeldoorn Apes
  • Cannes Blockbusters
  • Dublin Desperados
  • Hamburg Swashbucklers
  • London Towers
  • Stockholm Snowballs
  • Reykjavik Puffins
  • London Lions
  • Lagos Leatherbacks
  • Marseille Migraines

Orange Division (Eastern Europe and Asia)

  • Belgrade Sparrows
  • Budapest Gambit
  • Delhi Dynamite
  • Gorky Stormbringers
  • Johannesburg Koeksisters
  • Ljubljana Direwolves
  • Mumbai Movers
  • Odisha Express
  • Riga Magicians
  • Shymkent Nomads
  • Norway Gnomes
  • Amaravati Yodhas

Teams will play for six weeks starting today through February 15th.  At the conclusion of the sixth week, the pairings for week seven will be made to ensure that teams fighting for playoff spots will face off against each other in order to provide the most balanced matches for playoff positions.

All matches will be covered live on beginning at 11 a.m. EST.


Leave a Reply