2018 AUDL Playoffs Take Flight

audl-2018The post-season of the 2018 American Ultimate Disc League (AUDL) season takes off this weekend with 11 teams entering July Madness as they hope to make it to the final four in Madison during the weekend of August 11-12.

Let’s take a look at this year’s playoff teams:

  • Dallas Roughnecks (13-1) – The Roughnecks won the title in 2016.  They hope to add yet a second title having won the South Division title and a first-round bye.
  • Toronto Rush (13-1) – Their only loss of the season came against DC on June 9.  The Rush will have a bye this weekend awaiting the winner of DC-New York. The Rush have ruled the East Division having won each season since they began play in 2013.
  • Madison Radicals (12-2) – The Radicals have always been the bridegroom and never the bride in the postseason.  They are making their fifth straight playoff appearance but have yet to win the title having lost in the 2013 and 2015 finals.  They will have a bye this week as they await the Indy-Minnesota winner.
  • Los Angeles Aviators (11-3) – The league’s top scorer, Sean McDougall (58 goals) leads the Aviators as they won their first division title.  Their only loss in the division was to the San Diego Growlers.
  • Indianapolis AlleyCats (11-3) – The Cats were a hot team this season in the AUDL with their best regular season ever.  Rick Gross (56 goals) and Cameron Brock (56 goals) lead the attack for Indy.
  • Raleigh Flyers (10-4) – The Flyers host Austin in the playoffs this weekend.  They won a thrilling 25-23 overtime game at Austin in their last meeting.  Reigning league MVP Jonathan Nethercutt and teammate Jack Williams leads the Flyers.
  • DC Breeze (8-5) – Rowan McDonnel leads the Breeze as they hope to repeat their 10-goal win against the New York Empire in their last meeting.  The Breeze won the regular season series against the Empire 2-1.
  • New York Empire (8-6) – The Empire battled through a roller coaster season lead by Ben Jagt (51 assists) and Harper Garvey.
  • Minnesota Wind Chill (8-6) – No stranger to the postseason making their third-straight appearance.  They will travel to Indianapolis this weekend.  They tied the regular season meeting 1-1.
  • San Diego Growlers (7-7) – San Diego qualifies for the postseason for the first time in their four-year history.   Should they win against L.A. they would have their first winning season.
  • Austin Sol (7-7) – The Sol are also making their first postseason appearance in franchise history.  They will play the Raleigh Flyers in the division semifinal round.  The Sol squeaked into the playoffs as a result of a forfeited win over the Tampa Bay Cannons in Week 15.

This weekend’s playoff schedule:

  • Saturday, July 21
    • Minnesota at Indianapolis
    • San Diego at Los Angeles
    • New York at DC

Playoff Notes:

  • To save on travel, the Raleigh Flyers play at Austin Sol on Saturday, July 27th with the winner playing at Dallas on July 28th.
  • With only five teams in the West Division this year, only two teams qualified for the playoffs scrapping the divisional semifinal round.
  • Last year’s champion, San Francisco FlameThrowers, failed to make the playoffs.
  • The Stadium Network will broadcast the following games:
    • July 21 – New York at DC (7 pm ET)
    • July 28 – Raleigh-Austin winner at Dallas (8 pm ET)
    • August 11 – Semifinal games
    • August 12 – Championship game


Leave a Reply